“Careful kid, they’ll break your heart.”

I’m not a Red Sox fan, but I don’t think you have to be to like the movie, “Fever Pitch.” The movie isn’t exclusively about the Red Sox (although it certainly focuses on the Boston team). It’s about relationships, particularly a relationship with baseball. That’s pretty much what my blog is about, isn’t it?

Obviously, I love “Fever Pitch.”

– I am a girl. Therefore, I am genetically programmed to love a mushy ending. I know it’s not realistic, but I still love it. As jaded as I am romantically, I still love it when a movie ends with a fantastic kiss.

– I adore Jimmy Fallon and Drew Barrymore. Separately and together.

– As a baseball fan, I understood Ben’s passion even though I was more like Lindsey until a few years ago. It IS just a game, but in certain situations it can also be so much more.

– And, of course, the movie will always remind me of my good friend Amy, who passed away little more than a year ago. She was the biggest Rangers fan I knew, and she helped me become the fan I am today. She and I saw “Fever Pitch” twice in the theater (once at the good old drive-in near Ennis, Tx) and watched it at least once a month after it came out on DVD. We constantly quoted the movie, particularly the line about “batspeed.” Ha ha.

There are a lot of great lines and scenes in this movie, but I think my favorite is that which I believe sums up my fascination with baseball.

Friend: “Why do we inflict this on ourselves?”

Ben: “Why? I’ll tell you why. ‘Cause the Red Sox never let you down.”

Friends: “Huh?

Ben: “That’s right. I mean- What? ‘Just cause they haven’t won a World Series in a century or so? So what? They’re here. Every April, they’re here. At 1:05 or at 7:05 there is a game. And if it gets rained out, guess what. They make it up to you. Does anyone else in your life do that?”

Well, do they??

6 comments

  1. mlblogosphere@yahoo.com

    Ben’s last quote said it all. Sincerely sorry to hear about your friend Amy…and we can see her positive impact here!

    Welcome to the MLBlogosphere and looking forward to more posts like these all season. You’ve been added to the Rookies list on mlblogs.com. Have fun,

    Mark/MLB.com

    http://mlblogs.mlblogs.com

  2. eric

    Its good to see Ranger fans all over the country. I really enjoyed Fever Pitch and since reading your blog entry I think I’ll have to put it on tonight. I too am pretty jaded when it comes to romance and I fully understand what Ben means by his last statement. I look forward to reading more Ranger thoughts from Iowa in the future.
    http://baseballjourneyman.mlblogs.com/

  3. Chad

    Great article. I love Fever Pitch as well. I would love to have season tickets to my favorite team. Let alone have them win a World Series. One of my favorite parts is when he received his season tickets.

Leave a Reply

